5518 W Third St, Dayton, OH 45417
Ohio Laws Selling Used Cars

Ohio Laws Selling Used Cars

Regardless of the age or condition of your vehicle a variety of reasons may influence your mind to sell your used car, but no matter what they are, it is mandatory for you to follow certain rules. To do the right thing and not be in conflict with the law, it is best to learn the rules for selling a used car in Ohio before you even start to advertise your vehicle for sale.

Title Transfer

To complete the used car sales process in Ohio, you'll need to perform a title transfer. It is the buyer's responsibility to transfer the title, but you still have some work to do. You need to sign the existing title and make sure that the buyer also signs it, which is done in front of a notary public. After you've accomplished the sale of your used vehicle, you will need to complete the information on “assignment of ownership” area on the back of the title as well. This includes the following:

  • The purchase price of the vehicle
  • Buyers’ details and information
  • Date of transfer
  • Current mileage. You must complete this with either a deputy clerk or notary public present. The deputy clerk or notary public will verify all areas of the form.
  • They will then witness the seller’s signature and notarize the document.

 

Ownership of the vehicle must be in the transferor or the seller’s name, until the title has been transferred completely to the transferee or the buyer’s name. Then, a new title is issued with the new owner.

Definitely must be assure, you have the right name and address of the person who buys your car. Errors may render the car title unusable and require you to apply for another one.

Documents Needed to Bring to the Title Office:

  • The original title assigned to the buyer.
  • Application(s) for Certificate of Title to the Vehicle
  • for title fees, including a lien holder notation if this is applicable.
  • Valid, current and acceptable identification. The County Clerk of Courts Title Office for can assist with what is considered acceptable forms of ID.
  • Sales tax on the purchase price. It is important to note that the sales tax rates vary by county.
  • For out-of-state titles only, there must be an out-of-state vehicle identification number or VIN inspection. You can obtain one at any (VIN) inspection Ohio deputy registrar license agency.

 

Inclusions

While filling out the back of the vehicle title and preparing it for transfer, you must list the amount you have sold the car for. You have to list the car's current odometer reading as well. It is important to note that before completing the title transfer, both the transferor and transferee must verify the accuracy of the odometer listing as well as all other details, on the certificate of title. If there are any alterations or omissions this may void your title.

 

Additional points to note:

  • The buyer must pay sales and use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle.
  • All Vehicle and car title transfers must take place within 30 days of the date of sale. If not, a late fee will be assessed by the state of Ohio.
  • In the case of dual ownership, both parties must be present, unless a notarized power of attorney is provided.
  • All parties must also state Social Security numbers Photocopies of a vehicle title are not accepted.
  • For the choice of a 45-day temporary tag you must get that document before the transfer of the vehicle title into the new owner’s name.
  • Once an Ohio title is established, the owner will have to buy permanent Ohio license plates.
  • In the case of a lien holder, indicate such in the assignment portion of the title. There is a fee that must be paid for this as well.

After completing the title, it's wise to have it photocopied for your own records.

 

Registration

In the state of Ohio, the car owner is not required to provide a car registration to show to the buyer. However, according to DMV Website, producing one may help to convince a buyer to purchase your car. A valid registration can show the buyer that the license plate is legal, motivating him/her to trust you enough to buy your car.

 

Registration-Cyrus Auto Parts
Registration

 

Bill of Sale

Ohio laws require you to produce a bill of sale when selling your used vehicle. This is simply a document that can be used to prove that you have transferred ownership to someone else. It should include the date of the sale as well as the exact sale price. You should give the original to the buyer and keep a copy for yourself.

 

Dealerships

If you want to sell used cars for a living in the state of Ohio, there are other laws you must obey. For example, if you want to be a dealer, you will need to obtain a dealership license and a place from which to sell your cars. In Ohio, it is illegal to sell cars that are parked along a curb and away from your residence or business property. If you'd like to work for a dealership, you may have to obtain licensing as a salesperson.

 

Dealerships-Cyrus Auto Parts
Dealerships

 

Sell Your Used Car To a Junkyard

Junkyards are in charge of recycling and disposing of automobiles, trucks, SUVs, and vans. To properly dispose of your junk car, you can either contact a local junkyard for a cash for cars quote or call a junk car buyer like us to come pick it up. We are junk car buyers, so we can offer you top dollar for your car.

 

Search for https://Cyrusautoparts.us/ to prevent scams and wasted hours of reading about junk vehicle buyers at Cyrus Auto Parts.

 

Junk Your Car With Cyrus Auto & Get An Instant Quote

After you submit our online form, you will receive an instant quote for your junk car. If it appears to be acceptable to you, we can proceed with the offer. Fill out the form “Sell Your Vehicle”. In the end don’t get worried about Ohio’s Laws On Selling Used Cars, it’s not a big deal or a hard process. Our customer services will handle everything for you.

 

Call: (937)250-6982